VTB Kremlin Cup — tournament with a great history

2017 XXVIII International Tennis Tournament VTB Kremlin Cup

Prize money
$ 1 678 908
The prize money is provided by bank "VTB"
ATP
$ 823 600
WTA
$ 855 308

14-22 October for the 28th time Moscow will host the main Russian tennis event of the year - Tournament "VTB Kremlin Cup".

The origins

In the year of its formation, the Kremlin Cup became a bold breakthrough, a daring challenge through taboos and bans at the troubled times of "perestroika". It was not "the feast during the plague", as claimed by some of its contemporaries but a step up with the time. The Kremlin Cup started on November 5th, 1990 and thus, embodied the crazy dreams of the generation of Russian tennis players. All that became possible thanks to the people who stood at the origins of the Kremlin Cup, namely the Chairman of the Council of Ministers of the USSR Ivan Silaev, who headed the first Organizing Committee of the Tournament, the First President of Russia Boris Yeltsin, Eugene Scott, the Swiss businessman Sasson Kakshuri, Moscow Mayor Yuri Luzhkov and many other people not indifferent to tennis.

"Tennis is my hobby. My main business is trade of carpets. I originate from Iran, so I am an expert in carpets. But to run the Tournament at a high level I invited Eugene Scott as a Tournament Director. He has recently been a professional tennis player. At present he publishes tennis magazine in America. He has brought with him a team of office managers. Organization of the tennis Tournament is very troublesome and expensive" — from the interview with S. Kakshuri.

The uniqueness

VTB Kremlin Cup is the greatest competition long-liver in our country, the international competition of world importance, the event that goes beyond sports limits. For more than a quarter of a century the Tournament has been promoting the prestige and attractiveness of our country abroad. The same kind of indoor combined event is carried out nowhere in the world.

Since the first days of its origin and to the present day the Kremlin Cup, is the center for tennis development in the country. Tournament is accompanied by a lot of events: seminars for the umpires from all over the country, seminars for coaches, scientific conferences, annual Conference of the tennis community from all over Russia, all regions which are involved in the development of tennis.

Facts

One year the Tournament went together with business Symposium. VIPs came to Moscow from all over the world. Among them was the brother of the President of America Jonathan Bush.

When Boris Yeltsin visited the exposition of the Italian company "Elless" a representative of the company presented him a baseball cap as a souvenir. "Well, thank you. But here in Russia we are not in the habit to owe ", — said Boris Nikolayevich. He took off Rolex watch from his wrist and presented it to the manager.

Men’s "Trophy" was manufactured in the XIX century and was presented to first Tournament Director Eugene Scott as a gift from the jewelry house Cartier on the condition that the Trophy became a challenge prize and would never be sold out. Besides it is one of the most expensive Trophies in the ATP Tour.

As well-known two meter tall Swiss player Mark Rosse used to arrive in Moscow as at home. Apparently he felt in love with the city. He was a regular participant at the first 15 Tournaments and would have continued further if not for the age. In general "The Kremlin Cup" can hardly be called a Tournament for the local players. In 1996, women’s draw of the Tournament was represented by tennis players from 20 countries, and in the year 2003 players of the men’s draw arrived from 22 countries.

The first professional Tennis Tournament in our country was the women’s one (1989). Men played their Tournament a year later.

Russian tennis players have won the Tournament the biggest number of times: in the years 1990-2016 our tennis players won 37 Titles out of 87 , 21 of them in singles and 18 in doubles.

Heroes

A lot of records at "The Kremlin Cup" belong to Russia. Thus in 2004 the host players took priority wherever possible. Nikolay Davydenko and Anastasiya Myskina won both singles and doubles, where they were assisted by Igor Andreev and Vera Zvonareva. It is worth mentioning that at the turn of the century men’s Tournament became so to say the Kafelnikov Cup. Eugene remained undefeated in Moscow from 1997 to 2001. He set a world record in the number of victories at one Tournament won in a row. Those five years he won the finals in two sets. By the way, it was the first success of the most titled tennis player of Russia that launched the march of victories of the Russians at "The Kremlin Cup". In 13 Tournaments in the period from 1997 to 2009 they lost only twice. By the way, the last three years women’s Tournament was won by Russians – 2014, Anastasia Pavlyuchenkova, 2015-2016 Svetlana Kuznetsova.

Women’s Tournament "The Kremlin Cup" has always been more famous for the high-profile names. Men’s Tournament is remarkable for the year 1994, when seven players ranking top twenty in the world arrived to Moscow.

Present time

Light show, special effects, honored guests, leaders of the state – all that is a good dressing to a great dish called "Tennis".

Today it is worth going to the Tournament for even those who are not much interested in this sport just to see special light effects and the light show performed by the organizers in the last years. In this light the tribunes are left in the darkness and the light falls only on court. The feeling is enchanting. Now it is impossible to be distracted from what is happening on court, that takes up all of you. This is really a theater with a stage and spectators who are afraid even to talk in a whisper so as not to disturb the mood. Stage illumination is not the only technical innovation of the present day Tournament. Players’ entrance is accompanied with mapping that makes the surrounding “life”.

Though world tennis stars not always come to the Tournament the strongest Russian tennis players play at the Olympic stadium each year. It happens just because it’s the only chance to play for their fans. And for the Russian fans, accordingly, is the only chance to see Russian players live with their own eyes and not on TV.

ВТБ Кубок Кремля — турнир с большой историей

2017 XXVIII Международный теннисный турнир

Призовой фонд
$ 1 678 908
Обеспечивается банком «ВТБ» (ПАО)
ATP
$ 823 600
WTA
$ 855 308

С 14 по 22 октября Москва в 28-й раз встретит главное теннисное событие года турнир «ВТБ Кубок Кремля».

Истоки

В год своего становления Кубок Кремля стал смелым прорывом, дерзким вызовом, сквозь табу и запреты, смутные времена перестройки. Это был не «пир во время чумы», как утверждали некоторые современники, а шаг в ногу со временем. Кубок Кремля взял старт 5 ноября 1990 года и тем самым, воплотил смелые мечты целого поколения российских теннисистов. Все это стало возможным благодаря именам, стоящим у истоков становления Кубка — Председатель Совета Министров СССР Иван Силаев, возглавивший первый оргкомитет турнира, Первый Президент России Борис Ельцин, Юджин Скотт, швейцарский бизнесмен Сасон Какшури, Мэр Москвы Юрий Лужков и многих других неравнодушных к теннису.

«Теннис это мое хобби. Мой основной бизнес — это торговля коврами. Ведь я сам родом из Ирана, поэтому в коврах я специалист. А для того чтобы турнир прошел на высоком уровне, я пригласил директором турнира Юджина Скота. В недалеком прошлом он был профессиональным теннисистом, а сейчас в Америке издает теннисный журнал. Он привез с собой целую команду офис-менеджеров. Ведь создание теннисного турнира дело хлопотное и очень дорогое», — из интервью С. Какшури.

Уникальность

ВТБ Кубок Кремля — это самое крупное соревнование-долгожитель в нашей стране, соревнование мирового уровня, событие, выходящее за рамки спорта. Уже больше чем четверть века турнир работает на престиж и привлекательность страны за рубежом. Нигде в мире одновременно в крытом помещении не проходят сразу и мужской, и женский турниры.

Кубок Кремля с момента своего основания и по сей день, является центром развития тенниса в стране. Во время турнира проходит масса сопутствующих мероприятий: и семинары судей со всей страны, и семинары тренеров, научные конференции, ежегодная конференция теннисной общественности со всей России, со всех регионов, которые участвуют в развитии тенниса.

Факты

В один из годов параллельно с турниром проходил бизнес-симпозиум, в Москву слетелись VIP-персоны, среди них был брат президента Америки Джонатан Буш. Во время осмотра экспозиции итальянской фирмы «Эллесс» представитель фирмы подарил Б. Ельцину фирменный сувенир — бейсболку. «Ну что ж, спасибо. Но у нас в России в долгу оставаться не принято», — ответил Борис Николаевич, снял с руки и подарил коммивояжеру часы «Ролекс».

Мужской «Кубок» был изготовлен в XIX веке и был презентован в подарок ювелирной фирмой Cartier первому директору турнира Юджину Скотту, в качестве переходящего приза, но с условием: «продажи не подлежит». Помимо того, это один из самых дорогих кубков разыгрываемых на турнирах ATP.

Знаменитый двухметровый швейцарец Марк Россе приезжал в Москву как к себе домой — видимо, так полюбил город. Он непременно заявлялся на первые 15 розыгрышей (!) и продолжал бы дальше, если бы не возраст. Да и в целом «Кубок Кремля» ни в коем случае нельзя назвать турниром «для своих». В 1996 году у женщин были представлены теннисистки из 20 стран, а в 2003-м у мужчин — и вовсе из 22-х.

Первыми в профессиональном теннисном турнире в нашей стране стартовали женщины (1989), мужчины это сделали годом позже. Больше всего побед на турнире одержали российские теннисисты: из 87 титулов (1990-2016) наши теннисисты завоевали 37, из них 21 в одиночном разряде, и 18 в парном.

Герои

России на «Кубке Кремля» принадлежит масса рекордов. Так, в 2004 году хозяева первенствовали везде, где только можно. Николай Давыденко и Мыскина выиграли в одиночке и в парах, где им помогли также Игорь Андреев и Вера Звонарева. Стоит отметить, что на рубеже веков мужской турнир вообще превратился в Кубок Кафельникова. Евгений с 1997-го по 2001-й в Москве не знал поражений, установив еще и мировой рекорд по количеству побед на одном турнире подряд. Причем за пять лет все финалы он завершал в свою пользу за два сета.

Кстати, именно с первого успеха самого титулованного теннисиста России и началось победное шествие россиян на «Кубке Кремля». За 13 турниров с 1997-го по 2009-й года они не победили только в двух. К слову, последние три года кубок женского турнира увозят россиянки — 2014 год, Анастасия Павлюченкова, 2015—2016 гг. Светлана Кузнецова.

Женский турнир «Кубка Кремля» всегда был более громким по именам, причем намного. У мужчин же особняком стоит 1994 год, когда семь теннисистов из первой двадцатки мирового рейтинга приехали в Москву. А вот 1997-м и 2003-м никто из первой десятки не удостоил вниманием «Кубок Кремля».

Настоящее

Световое шоу, спецэффекты, почетные гости, первые лица государства — это все гарнир к отличному блюду под названием «теннис».

Сегодня турнир на стоит сходить даже тем, кто не очень интересуется этим видом спорта, хотя бы потому, что уже несколько лет организаторами используется уникальное для тенниса «сценическое» освещение. При таком освещении трибуны остаются в темноте, а свет падает только на корт. Ощущения феерические. Теперь уже невозможно отвлечься от происходящего на корте, которое захватывает тебя полностью. Это уже и правда театр со сценой и зрительским залом, в котором боишься даже шепотом разговаривать, чтобы не разрушить атмосферу. Сценическая подсветка не единственное техническое новшеством, которое присуще турниру нашего времени. Выход теннисистов на корт сопровождается мэпингом, который помогает «оживлять», что угодно в пространстве.

Мировые звезды в Москву, может быть, приезжают и не всегда, зато самые сильные российские теннисисты играют в «Олимпийском» ежегодно. Просто потому, что это единственный шанс выступить перед своими зрителями. А для российских зрителей, соответственно, это единственный шанс увидеть российских теннисистов собственными глазами, а не по телевизору.